The five solas:
which are salvation by grace alone (sola gratia)
through faith alone (sola fides),
in Christ alone (sola Christus,
through his Word alone (sola Scriptura,
), and for the Glory of God alone (sola deo gloria).
Presbyterians generally believe in what is referred to as "reformed theology", which pertains to the chiefly Calvinist Protestant churches formed in various continental European countries, especially those which are chiefly Calvinist, as distinguished from Lutheran. This is characterized by the five points of Calvinism, which were defined by the Cannon of Dorts to be:
total depravity,
unconditional election,
limited atonement,
irresistible grace,
and perseverance of the saints.
(The acronym TULIP is commonly used to remember them.
) Reformed theology takes a very high view of the character and the sovereignty of God, and an Augenstinian view of humanity as dead in their sin.

Key To Codes And Symbols

Comments and additional information are welcome.

Return to Pat & Pat Iurilli Home Page
send comments and suggestions to
last update: 09/30/06